Shopping Basket

Item Qty


Home>Compact Discs and Vinyl>Vinyl Soundtracks

Doctor Who: The Invasion OST (Vinyl)

Was released on 25 September 2018

Price: £22.99

? In Stock
XAdd to Basket

The Invasion was an eight-part Doctor Who story made and transmitted in 1968. Written by Derrick Sherwin (from a story by Kit Pedler), it starred Patrick Troughton as the second Doctor and featured the Brigadier, UNIT, and the Cybermen in a “modern Earth invasion” Doctor Who story that became a hugely influential series at the time. At the helm was Douglas Camfield, one of popular television’s most maverick and talented directors of the 1960s and 1970s.

The music was composed by Don Harper, the third Australian émigré composer (after Ron Grainer and Dudley Simpson) to work on the programme. Harper’s soundtrack may have been influenced by John Barry’s score for The Ipcress File (1965). He uses the cimbalom in the score, and the artist was most likely John Leach (a.k.a. Janos Lehar), who played on The Ipcress File, King Rat and The Persuaders.

The release also features “Muzak” by John Baker (referred to as such in the cue sheets for episodes 1 and 2), which had its first outing in an Out of the Unknown episode.

The master tape of the music for ‘The Invasion’ was lost soon after transmission, but Harper retained a 7½ ips ‘composer’s copy’ that forms the basis of this release. Additionally, the score was augmented by extensive use of electronic sounds by Brian Hodgson of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop


Side A

1. Doctor Who (new opening theme, 1967)


2. The Dark Side of the Moon (Music 2 Variation)


3. The Company (Music 7)


4. Hiding (Music 8)


5. International Electromatics Headquarters (Music 3)


6. Muzak


7. The Cyber Director (Music 5)


8. The Cybermen, My Allies (Music 7)


9. Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart (Music 12a)


10. Plans for Invasion (Music 8)


11. Mysteries (Music 12)


12. Fire Escape (Music 11)


13. The Dark Side of the Moon (Reprise) (Music 2)


14. The Cybermen, My Allies (Reprise) (Music 7, looped)




Side B


1. Music 4 (Trapped in Gas Chamber - v. 1 & 2)


2. Music 9


3. Music 10


4. Music 13


5. Music 14


6. Music 15a


7. Music 15b


8. Music 15c


9. Music 15d


10. Music 15e


11. Music 15f


12. Music 15g


13. Music 15h


14. Music 16a


15. Music 16b


16. Music 16c


17. Music 16d


18. Music 16e


19. Music 16f


20. Music 16g


Electronic Score and Sounds


21. Part of TARDIS disappears


22. All of TARDIS disappears


23. TARDIS take off slow and painful


24. International Electromatics Headquarters Exterior


25. International Electromatics Headquarters Interior